5 Quotes that I Love

19 May

Thanks for joining me on the 30 day blogging challenge.  Today we are sharing our favorite quotes.  Like many of you I love quotes. I collect them in my notes on my phone and keep a journal with ones that inspire or motivate me in some way.  Quotes are perfect for those moments when you need direction or just encouragement to move forward. Look for more of my favorite quotes on my twitter feed where I share daily doses of  inspiration and calls to actions. 5 Quotes That I love

Let’s start with  5 of my most beloved quotes.

1.  ” Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs ” – Farrah Gray. I love this quote because it reminds me why I became an entreprenuer and why I choose to continue on this path.

2.  ” The first time someone shows you who they are, believe them ” -Maya Angelou.  Dr.Angelou reminds us to trust our instints with her signature quote. Her words have never steered me wrong thus far.

3. “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others”  -Marianne Williamson.  We often fear the unknown the unconquered yet we long to do something different. This quote forces us to deal with doubt and to overcome them by taking action. I truly embrace this quote because every time I embark on a new journey. I remember that the real reason for living our purpose is to encourage someone else to step into theirs. 

4. ” I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you” – Psalm 32:8 .  I carry this scripture on one of my signature silver bangle bracelets it is a beautiful reminder that God is always with me and that he will lead me to the answers that I am searching for. This scripture gives me peace and assurance that I do not need to rush or scurry but be still and just know.

5. ” When you see crazy coming, cross the street” – Iyanla Vanzant.  Many times we engage in situations that can easily be avoided. This simple saying reminds us to avoid other peoples drama and embrace peace.

 

I hope you enjoyed reading my favorite quotes. I would love to read yours so e-mail or tweet me your favorite quote and you may see it in one of my upcoming post.

 
As always I wish you Joy and Peace,

Melisa

Melisa Alaba is the Author of Live Out Loud, 52 Ways to Reawaken Your Spirit and Live a Life of Purpose. Melisa can be found walking on a trail or sampling chocolate along the coast. You can connect with her on-line via her social media outlets or join her in one of her many classes on her website www.melisaalaba.com

One Response to “5 Quotes that I Love”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The best advice I ever received…. | On A Beautiful Journey - May 20, 2014

    […] the street.”  This is my most hilarious but truest advice. It is also listed as one of my favorite quotes because I take this advice literally. The moment I see people or situations that are not right you […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

