The Reading Room – David and Goliath

27 Jun

I remember the moment I got the email. It read “Pre-order David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell. Available October 15, 2013”. My heart skipped several beats as I just thought of all the great ideas I was going to devour in a few months. Full disclosure: Malcolm Gladwell is my favorite author! I have read all of his books and I own most of them in hardback and also have them in the e-book format on my Kindle.  In my opinion, Gladwell is a masterful writer who brings to life unique perspectives of historical, psychological and sociological events. He then ties the events into tantalizing life  and business lessons based on data, theories and personal interviews. So the day had come and I picked up my new book David and Goliath from my local bookstore. As I held it in my hand I felt like I had just won a prize of some sort. I held it close as if it were a pot of gold that I had just happened upon. Pulling a seat out at the café I begin the journey with my tour guide  and old friend Gladwell. From the first few pages I knew I was in for a treat. David and Goliath did not disappoint.  Gladwell uses the biblical story of David and Goliath tMalcom's booko challenge our beliefs. The premise of the book begs the question, Does the little guy who wins the fight receive a miracle or is it a underlying system or tactical advantage on his part that secures his winning position? Malcolm leads us through the civil rights movement with stories of historical figures and their strategic  winning plays that changed the course of history. We make a stop at the top universities in the country and come to terms with the big fish and little pond syndrome. Our journey continues with a disadvantaged basketball team that uses the rules of the game to dominate the season. Case after case Gladwell allows us to see the possibilities in every situation. If you are a true fan of Malcolm Gladwell – like I am –  you will walk away thinking this is one of his best works yet. For newbies I suggest reading one chapter at a time and allowing yourself to process and debate the information before continuing on. Malcolm has often been quoted as saying that his true audience is that of intellectually curious individuals who are open to questioning the status quo and who look for a different possibility.  I believe these sentiments are true. I love a good discourse so please write me and let me know your thoughts about Gladwell’s  latest work.

Wishing You Joy,

Reviewed by Melisa Alaba

Melisa Alaba is the Author of Live Out Loud, 52 Ways to Reawaken Your Spirit and Live a Life of Purpose. Melisa can be found walking on a trail or sampling chocolate along the coast. You can connect with her on-line via her social media outlets or join her in one of her many classes on her website www.melisaalaba.com

Leave a Reply

